Winter Heritage 2016

On my list of favorite things to do, heritage is pretty high. There is just something about both Winter and Summer Heritage that is special. I mean, getting together with godly young people, having great church, traveling-all of these things add up to an amazing event, you know?

Unfortunately, I had to work on New Year’s Eve so I couldn’t ride with the young people down to Texas, which is where the conference was held. So I packed my bags beforehand and was ready to go when I got off of work on Thursday evening. (Actually I took a shower, changed clothes, and packed my hair essentials before we left, but you know…) I think we left around 7 that evening and started on our way. *This is where I thank my parents for going with me so that I didn’t have to navigate Dallas by myself at New Year’s. Thank you parents!*

I was super excited to get there and I let everyone (everyone being my mom and dad) know about it. I chatted almost nonstop for most of the trip I think…;) I was also texting some friends from Louisiana who were asking how long it would be and kept checking in on my status…Also a thanks to those friends. You helped keep me more sane on the ride.-not completely sane but more sane than I would’ve been. (Who knew that 4.5 hours could feel like eternity?!) Between asking dad to speed more than he already was, texting friends, and chatting with my parents, we made it. We also stopped at Panda Express, somewhat to my dismay…it sounded good but I wanted something fast because Dallas wasn’t getting any closer. haha

I missed the first service of Winter Heritage, as it occurred as I was on my way to Dallas, but I still couldn’t get there quick enough. I continually asked my dad to go faster so that I could ring in the new year with Melissa (my sister from Arizona) while my mom kept saying “Phil! Slow down! You’re going to kill us!” haha *side note: 80 mph isn’t too terribly fast when you’re in a hurry 😉 *

Speaking of Melissa…I sent her a text while I was still about an hour, maybe two, out of  Dallas. She asked me where I was and I told her that I had to get some stuff done and I didn’t know if I would be able to make it.-of course I could’ve added ‘before midnight’ but I wanted to surprise her… She was pretty upset but I hardened my heart and kept pretending that I was trying to convince my dad and blah blah. Then I started asking random questions about how church was, where they went to eat…things like that. She ended up sharing her location with me through our iPhones (I’m still not sure what possessed her to do that but I’m thankful! haha) so I headed out to the Cheesecake Factory immediately after checking in at the hotel. It was full of young people and it took me a moment to spot Melissa. I had less than five minutes and I was literally running through the Cheesecake Factory to find her. And I did it! I tapped her on the shoulder and she looked up at me. I watched emotions go across her face and it was pretty hilarious. When it finally registered she shot out of her chair and let out a little scream/yell noise and hugged me super hard. It was a pretty awesome moment. 🙂 We laughed and chatted for a few minutes and rang in the new year. Then I left with the promise of meeting up with her at the hotel.

Now on to photos. I didn’t take a boatload, but I did take a few! Go me!!

 

IMG_7034

Mel and I at the Cheesecake Factory

IMG_7036

Ms. Kelsi and I. We’ve gotten closer and I’m delighted about it. The days surrounding this photo provided a lot of memories for us! haha (I had been praying, hence the teary face!)

IMG_7041

Renea, Ashlynn, and I…I was laying on them, bless their hearts. haha

IMG_7088

I was SOO happy to see this guy! ❤

IMG_7053

Brecklin was the only one brave enough to touch the Lobster. She was nervous but it was cute.

IMG_7054

IMG_7055

Contrary to popular belief, we are not praying to the match. We are warming ourselves by the fire. It was cold!-Kelsi seemed to be enjoying it though!

IMG_7058

Kelsi was asleep in the van. Sitting up. So I took advantage of the kodiak moment.

IMG_7062

Mel and I at the lock-in. We had so much fun!

IMG_7087

Jessica, Brooklyn, and I. No, Jessica and I are not related. Promise.

IMG_7067

When you ask a guy to take a photo with the request that they get your feet in the photo. Thanks Landon.

IMG_7072

I’m a trendsetter. Thank you Garrett for the fashion piece…:)

IMG_7075

Port-a-Juan and I…

IMG_7084

It looks like I’m falling. I’m not. I’m giving idle threats to Garrett. Something like ‘Get up or I’ll stab you with my skate.’

IMG_7086

He got up but continued his antics to a mild extent. I’m such a good threatener…

IMG_7117

Mel and I..Yes I fell on the carpet from laughing so hard. This was after I prayed for the vending machine and it started spitting money. #miraclesstillhappen haha

And some photos just for kicks…Actually because I need to play catch up, but you know…

IMG_7146

AAAND I curled my hairs. This doesn’t happen often at all. Seriously. So I took a photo. A bad one that doesn’t even show all of my hair, but a photo nonetheless…

IMG_6961

Kelsi, Brooklyn, and I at our Christmas Banquet

IMG_6917

Brayan, Misael, Caleb, and I. Caleb is a goofball so don’t let his stoic face deceive you.)

IMG_6919

Genesis and I. We always look like we are dancing and I’m not sure why…?

IMG_6904

Kelsi and I ❤ (taking a photo without photo bombers is pretty much hopeless in our youth group. Hi Caleb, EJ, and Carlos.)

IMG_6903

Natural beauties…Genesis and Brooklyn

IMG_6901

Genesis and I. And Brayan. It was just one of those moments.

IMG_6893

Mid-Crack up for myself and Genesis being a creeper. I miss seeing her everyday!

IMG_6892

Brooklyn, Kelsi and I. We obviously got shutter happy which may have been the result for the strange facial expressions…?

IMG_6895

When photo bombers interrupt and the photographer is the only one who stays on track. But it shows off our hair. Mine was falling and is totally real life. #keepingitreal

IMG_6851

Sis. Howard and I were twins! I love this good lady so much. I have THE best Pastor’s wife ever! ❤

IMG_7008

We got a teensy bit of snow and it looked pretty on my house. It would’ve looked better if I had gone through the mud in the pasture to get a photo of the front…I’m not that dedicated!

IMG_7019

Kelsi and I had a little starbucks date one day and our names turned out weird. Super women (me…is that a fat joke?) and Super mom (her…she isn’t a mom. In fact, I told them ‘Maude” haha!)

I’ll probably add more Winter Heritage photos later but I have to get them off the stream first. And that’ll take me a few moments. So I’ll end this long post and come back with the other photos on a new one. Stay tuned! -I’ll also be explaining my absence over the last several weeks. Back to regular posting hopefully! 🙂

xo

Leave a comment